Chris Cortez

Hold It Right There

Blue Bamboo Music BBM006

Chris Cortez, guitar, vocals; Tommy Sciple, bass; Jeff Mills, drums; Jay Webb, trumpet; Dean Fransen, piano; Larry Panella, tenor, alto sax, clarinet; Sam Bruton, piano; Reggie Murray, soprano, tenor sax.

This is guitar player Chris Cortez's fourth solo album, most of these songs have been in his book for twenty years, he says, and many of his family and friends have been waiting a long time for this disc. Cortez sings on ten of the thirteen tracks, all of which are standards. This is straight ahead Jazz that swings happily, George Shearing's "Lullaby Of Birdland" is easy and relaxed, good warm solos, comfortable playing; that about sums it up. Through "Ain't Misbehavin'", "Don't Let me Be Lonely Tonight", a lively rendering of the Samba "Tico Tico", "Stormy Weather", "Benny's From Heaven", satirical lyrics (and title), for this old standard, "Way Down Yonder In New Orleans", they are all dispatched with toe-tapping pleasantness. Good, tight playing from excellent musicians; this is light stuff to keep you happy.

by Ferdinand Maylin

Jazz Now Interactive June 2004 Vol 14 No. 2 - Table of Contents

Back to

Your comments: