Ruth Hammond

All Good Things

Tenterhook Records THRC 01

Ruth Hammond, vocal, Fender Rhodes, Hammond organ, tenor saxophone; James Pusey, guitars, sitar; Greig Robinson, bass; Scott Hammond, drums; Deborah-Grace Bensberg, Catherine Sykes, Sophia Muirhead, backing vocal; Pete Eckford, percussion; Debbie Cole, flute

The fact that there are three backing vocalists may give the plot away as to where this group is coming from!

Nine original compositions written and sung by Ms. Hammond in a deadpan style vaguely reminiscent of maria Muldaur or Michael Franks but without those artists' fine abilities.

Instrumentally well played, there is nothing exceptional here, it is merely superior 'pop' music with a slight Jazz fell.

by Al Merritt

More New Sounds

Back to Contents Page
Jazz Now Interactive

Copyright Jazz Now, September 2002 issue, all rights reserved