Bob Bangerter - Ordinary Man

Bob Bangerter

Ordinary Man


Bob Bangerter, acoustic and electric guitars; Michael Ruff, keyboards, Hammond B3 organ and lead vocals; David Inamine, fretless bass; Garin Poliahu, drums; Lenny Castro, percussion; Fred Schreuders, guitar; Cornelius Bumpus and Marc Russo, soprano and tenor saxophones; David Choy, tenor saxophone; Slide Hyde, trombone; John Chudoba, Mike Lewis, trumpet.

All ten tracks were written by Bob Bangerter, some are in collaboration with Michael Ruff; starting with "Don't Stop Believing", a well put together piece. There is a driving percussion which carries through the whole set; propelling forward some tricky and intimate playing. There are pleasant vocals, some funky electric sounds, and always a strong pulse; sometimes the music offers a fierce edge to it.

The title track "Ordinary Man", sung well by Michael Ruff has a softer touch and a good feel. "Walking With Emil" has a fine guitar solo and Hammond organ support; a softer drive from the percussion might have better suited. "The Way A Woman Works" and "Oak Street" strut along with bounce. An interesting set, without reaching great heights it is an excellently compiled set of tunes.

by Ferdinand Maylin

This CD can be purchased from the Jazz Now Direct mail order catalog

More New Sounds

Back to Contents Page
Jazz Now Interactive

Copyright Jazz Now, September2003 issue, all rights reserved