Eric Essix


ZD 44022-2

Eric Essix, acoustic guitar, electric guitar; Melvin Butler, flute, saxophone, Topper Price, harmonica; Sean Michael Ray, bass; Lil' John Roberts, drums; Kelvin Wooten, piano, hammond organ, electric piano, fender rhodes, Wurlitzer, Darrell Tibbs, percussion.

Eric Essix takes us on a trip through the black south where he was brought up. He wrote five of the eleven tracks, and offers us his perceptions, experiences and feelings. Starting off with "Rainy Night in Georgia" the quality of his playing is evident, and a swirl through gospel, funk, southern rock and blues creates an entertaining CD full of mixes and nuances to delight the ear.

Classy guitar playing from Essix with good backing particularly from Melvin Butler on sax and flute and Kelvin Wooten on keyboards various.

Ferdinand Maylin

(available at Jazz Now Direct)

More New Sounds

Back to Contents Page
Jazz Now Interactive

Copyright Jazz Now, October 2002 issue, all rights reserved