MHCC Jazz Band 2004

I'm New Here

Sea Breeze SBV 4560

Michael Rodriguez; Melenie Neher, Taylor Aglipay, Joe Moore, Mike Meskel, reeds; Adam Buell, Karl Blackwood, R Michael Sanchez, Wes Luttrell, Mark Bennett, trumpet; Derek Bondy, Heather Sessler, Kelson Barberis, Patrick McCoy, trombone; Ben Darwish, Chazz Hamilton, gitar; Jeff Baldus, bass; Julian Emanuel, drums; Susie May Jones, director. .

This is the Moment; Secret Love; Warm Valley; Shaw Nuff; What Child is This; It Might as well be Spring; After the Rain; Take the ìAî Train; Au Privave; A Few Good Men.

Mount Hood March 2004.

This is yet another of those bright college big bands that Sea Breeze Records seem to find by the dozen. This one includes the distinguished work of some of Americaís great arrangers, among them Sammy Nestico, Don Sebesky and Rob McConnell.

The ensemble passages throughout are played with precision and verve, with the rhythm section driving the band along beautifully. However , I find quite a lot of the soloists too intent upon creating excitement at the expense of quality lines and their creations. A little more care to produce an attractive sound and using far less number of notes would go a long way toward achieving an overall improvement.

This may seem like harsh criticism, but if compared with other bands of today their shortcomings would be quite noticeable.

A band with potential, which needs a little more polishing.

by Al Merritt