Ron Kapland

Lounging Around

Kapland Records


Ron Kapland, vocals; Dmitri Matheny, flugelhorn; Donny McCaslin, Jr., tenor saxophone; Steve Czarnecki, Hammond B3 organ; Larry Scala, guitar; Perry Thoorsell, bass; Guiseppe Merolla, drums.


Aptos, California-based vocalist Ron Kapland provides highly respectable interpretations of familiar standards in this ambitious, self-produced session, including "Blues in the Night", "Just One of Those Things", and "Caravan". Kapland eschews vocal improvisation in favor of precision lyric delivery, with support from some of the San Francisco Bay Area's best instrumentalists, including Dmitry Matheny. Don't expect any Earth-shattering harmonic revelations here, just solid grooves on time-honored blowing vehicles.


by James D. Armstrong, Jr.

Back to Contents Page
Jazz Now Interactive

Copyright Jazz Now, August 2000 issue, all rights reserved